Co-Dependency

Photo: Jill Burro – pexels.com

Co-Dependency

refers to unconscious and unconditional attachment to other people.

In the language of C.G. Jung also "projective submission" (false surrender) and in colloquial language known as "anticipatory" or "cadaveric" obedience.

Originally an early childhood and here quite sensible attachment pattern that serves to maintain our own existence respectively the supply for our material and emotional needs. This being specifically important, if the mother-child relation could - for whatever reasons - not be based on unconditional love.

In case of a natural, optimal self-development supported by successfully living through the phases of detachment (especially phases of defiance and adolescence), this can be transformed into healthy autonomy.

" Healthy autonomy " includes both conscious relatedness to other people (“we-awareness”) and to higher, supra-human forces (awareness of natural creational forces, also known as "God-consciousness” a/o similar terms).

In other words, the consciously embodied inclusion of our self in a larger context that cannot be experienced through our limited human mind. Or: acceptance of the mystical dimensions of our human and all existence (true surrender).

Unfortunately, in our Western culture, the rites of passage that used to accompany this process in ancient cultures have been lost.

However, the good news is that a correlating process of transformation can be activated and accompanied by guided rituals such as the initiations of shamanism.

Co-Abhängigkeit

Photo: Jill Burro – pexels.com

Co-Abhängigkeit

bezeichnet die unbewusste und unbedingte Bezogenheit auf andere Menschen.

In der Sprache von C.G. Jung auch „projektive Unterwerfung“ („projective submission“ / false surrender) und im Alltagssprachgebrauch auch bekannt als „vorauseilender“ bzw. „Kadavergehorsam“.

Ursprünglich ein kindliches und hier durchaus sinnvolles Abhängigkeitsverhalten, das der eigenen Existenzsicherung dient bzw. die materielle und emotionale Versorgung sicherstellen soll. Dies eine Notwendigkeit insbesondere dann, wenn die Mutter-Kind Beziehung – aus welchen Gründen auch immer – nicht auf bedingungsloser Liebe basieren konnte.

Bei einer natürlichen, optimalen Persönlichkeitsentwicklung mithilfe eines erfolgreichen Durchlebens von Ablösephasen (insbesondere Trotzalter und Adoleszenz) kann dies zugunsten einer gesunden Autonomie überwunden werden.

Die gesunde Autonomie beinhaltet sowohl die bewusste Bezogenheit auf andere Menschen (Wir-Bewusstheit) als auch auf höhere, übermenschliche Kräfte (Schöpfungs-, auch Gottesbewusstsein oder ähnliche Begriffe).

Mit anderen Worten: die bewusst gelebte Einordnung unseres Selbst in einen größeren, mit unserem begrenzten menschlichen Verstand nicht erfahrbaren Zusammenhang. Oder auch die Akzeptanz von mystischen Dimensionen der menschlichen bzw. aller Existenz (true surrender).

In unserer westlichen Kultur sind die diesen Prozess in alten Kulturen begleitenden Übergangsrituale leider verlorengegangen.

Die gute Nachricht ist, dass ein entsprechender Nachreifungsprozess durch angeleitete Rituale –  im Schamanismus Initiationen genannt – angestoßen und begleitet werden kann.